Pittsburgh-based music collective Beo String Quartet compose truly original Chamber Alt music with lyrical themes spanning the dark recesses of the human consciousness. Not only do they dig deep in theme; the sound they’ve created by uniting classical music and progressive rock/metal is rousing and intense. Another aspect of Chamber Alt music is that the music is composed. Everything is written out first. Beo String Quartet stay true to their bold musical vision on the abstract, compelling new album “Ghosts Revisited”, out October 21, 2021 via NeuKraft Records.

Beo String Quartet’s Biography:

Refusing to be confined by genre, Beo String Quartet appears on concert stages across the nation bringing classical masterpieces, contemporary works, and original progressive rock to its audiences. Highlights from the upcoming 2021-2022 season included performances as featured artists for CCM’s 2021 Zemlinsky Prize and the premiere of 19-20: an original work for string quartet weaving musical performance with onstage illusions to question if art has a place in a post-Covid world.

About “Ghosts Revisited”:

Blending classical lyricism with progressive rock, Ghosts Revisited is inspired by personal transformation—the things that cause someone to basically break out of their old skin. The highly poetic, fragmentary lyrics take us right to the edge of our consciousness. Half-awake, shifting impressions float through our minds where a single moment can explode into years and years can pass by unnoticed.

“We’ve flipped the roles of string quartet vs rock combo normally found in popular styles,” says producer Sean Neukom. “In Ghosts Revisited, it’s the strings giving us the substance of the sound. The drums, guitar, bass, and vocals drop in for added definition and texture.”

The string quartet runs through the core of Ghosts Revisited. The album opens with an expansive and virtuosic introduction for string quartet before launching the full band into the first song. The string quartet also seamlessly transitions the mood between each song played by the full band.

More Info:

  • Artist Name: Beo String Quartet
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA
  • Release Title: Ghosts Revisited
  • Release Date: October 21, 2021
  • Label: NeuKraft Records
  • Musician Names/Instruments: Beo String Quartet
  • Producer Name(s): Sean Neukom
  • Similar/RIYL: Radiohead, Kronos Quartet, Dream Theater, Apocalyptica, Trans-Siberian Orchestra
  • Genre(s): in terms of standard genres–indie rock, chamber music, progressive rock; the term we use: chamber alt


  • Prologue
  • Dreaming
  • Ghost 1
  • Walking
  • Ghost 2
  • Dancing
  • Ghost 3
  • introSpectre
  • Ghost 4
  • Ghosts Revisited
  • Epilogue


Beo String Quartet is an active performing ensemble with a focus on classical, contemporary, and original music. In its role as Resident Artists at the Charlotte New Music Festival, Beo has performed and recorded over fifty world premiers since its inception in 2015. During the 19-20 and 20-21 seasons, during which live concerts were unfeasible, Beo fulfilled commissions for studio recordings from Charles Nichols (InGratitude, At the Boundary) Gary Eskow (Remo’s Revenge), the North Dakota Music Teachers’ Association (19-20), and completed studio work for its upcoming original albums Ghosts Revisited and triggerLand. The Dayton Philharmonic commissioned a violin concerto from Sean Neukom, Beo’s violist and composer, which premiered in 2018. Beo were finalists of the 2020 SAVVY Chamber Music Competition and winners of the 2016 Pittsburgh Concert Society competition.

Proof of pudding:

  • Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/beostringquartet/
  • Twitter: https://twitter.com/beosq
  • Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/beostringquartet/
  • Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/7fQqjQXGvaqV1ip9h7mLyo
  • Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/beo-string-quartet
  • YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/beostringquartet