If you wish to see the Marvel and Avengers movies in chronological order beginning with Captain America: The First Avenger, which is set during World War II, we have included all 33 Marvel Cinematic Universe movies and series in chronological order, compiled into one guide!

So even though Iron Man was filmed and released in 2008, which gives it the right to claim the flag as the first film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Chris Evans beats Robert Downey Jr. in the narrative of the film. This is because the events that take place in Chris Evans’ origin story as Captain America in The First Avenger take place in 1942. 

We are also given our first comprehensive introduction to the Tesseract, an energy cube that kicks off the Infinity Saga, which will reach its pinnacle in the film Avengers: Endgame, which will be released in 2019. Next up in the chronology comes to the movie Captain Marvel, which is a blockbuster inside a blockbuster and takes place in 1995. 

Read more: Best Marvel Characters Ranked

Brie Larson stars in the film as the otherworldly Carol Danvers. After that, it’s time to get things rolling with Iron Man and RDJ’s performance as Tony Stark, which changed the face of the industry forever. After that, the movies may be viewed in the order that they were originally released, except for Black Widow, which is scheduled to be released in 2021 and is set in the aftermath of Captain America: Civil War, which was released in 2016.

After the dramatic conclusion of “Endgame,” which wrapped up the first three phases of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU), there was a time leap of five years ahead, putting the majority of everything in Phase 4 and beyond in the not-too-distant future. 

Shang-Chi marked the beginning of Phase 4 in the cinema, and since then, the MCU has been relying on its television roster to pull its weight in terms of moving the plot forward. Among these movies are Loki, Wandavision, Falcon and the Winter Soldier, and Hawkeye. 

Then there came the massive knockout blow that Spider-Man delivered with Far From Home and No Way Home in quick succession. After that point, the storylines of Moon Knight, Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness, and now Thor: Love and Thunder are all set in the same time frame as their respective releases. 

Now is your chance to get caught up on the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) or to experience it freshly with all of the Marvel movies and episodes presented in chronological sequence.

Read more: Get Ready For The New Marvel Movies

Total Number Of Marvel Movies

Till now, 27 MCU films have hit cinemas. The popular Marvel Studios saga began with Iron Man in 2008 and finished with Spider-Man: No Way Home in December 2021. By the time Marvel Phase 4 films are released, at least 34 films will be released.

Unless Blade is released as part of Phase 4, the number rises to 35. So the subject of “how to watch the Marvel movies in order” will only become more difficult.

Watch Marvel Movies In Release Order

Best For Beginners

First, here’s how to watch Marvel movies chronologically. Marvel films are divided into Phases, with each Phase marking the conclusion of a plot arc. Hence, the start of a Phase signifies the arrival of new characters. Here is a list of Marvel movies in order of their release order:

Phase 1:

  • Iron Man (2008)
  • Hulk (2008)
  • Iron Man 2 (2010)
  • Thor (2011)
  • Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  • Avengers (2012)

Phase 2:

  • Iron Man 3 (2013)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  • The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)

Phase 3:

  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Dr Strange (2016)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (2017)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Black Panther (2017)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Ant-Man & The Wasp (2018)
  • Captain Marvel (2019)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

Phase 4:

  • WandaVision – (Disney Plus series)
  • The Winter Soldier (Disney Plus series)
  • Loki 1 (Disney Plus series)
  • Black Widow (2021)
  • What If… (Disney Plus)
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2021)
  • Eternals (2021)
  • Hawkeye (Disney Plus series)
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home (2021)
  • Moon Knight (2022)

How To Watch Marvel Movies In Order: Chronological Order

Best For: For MCU fans seeking a different experience

Want a more complex yet still feasible MCU experience? Then you may want to know how to watch Marvel movies in sequence. Thankfully, Marvel has disclosed the official year for each film. That includes Falcon and the Winter Soldier, which takes place between Endgame and Far From Home, and Hawkeye, which occurs around No Way Home:

  • Captain America: The First Avenger (1942-1943)
  • Captain Marvel 2 (1995)
  • Iron Man (2010)
  • Iron Man 2 (2011)
  • The Incredible Hulk (2011)
  • Thor (2011)
  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Iron Man 3 (2012)
  • Thor: The Dark World (2013
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (2014)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Ant-Man (2015)
  • Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming (2016)
  • Doctor Strange (2016-2017)
  • Black Widow (2017)
  • Black Panther (2017)
  • Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (2017)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2017)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2018-2023)
  • Loki
  • What If…? 
  • WandaVision (2023)
  • Shang-Chi and The Legend of the Ten Rings (2023-2024)
  • Falcon and the Winter Soldier (2023-2024)
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home (2024)
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home (2024)
  • Eternals (2024)
  • Hawkeye (Christmas 2024)
  • Moon Knight (2025)